In other news….

No, I haven’t forgotten about this place.  With so many things on my plate, I haven’t had time to work on any aspect of it.  Hopefully that’ll change soon enough.

Meanwhile, I think I’ve found my next laptop:

The New Hotness for my Old Busted Joint

Most people don’t know my current laptop’s on life support.  The LCD screen is screwed up thanks to the built-in nVidia GeForce GO 7600 giving up the ghost.  Apparently it can no longer be bothered to run anything resembling 3D graphics without throwing a BSOD.  Hell, it can’t even load with regular nVidia drivers without throwing a BSOD and rebooting in a neverending circle of computational misery, but enough about that.  The only reason it’s still in use is thanks to the chunky-as-hell CRT monitor and Windows 7’s standard VGA driver putting in work.  There’s a risky trick in coaxing it back to life, but with this being my only PC for the time being……

At any rate, at just over $1300, it’s well within my budget (and coincidentally around the same price I bought my very first laptop for over 7 years ago).  Oh, and it also happens to have roughly the same specs as a 15″ Macbook Pro that retails for $11tythousand.  Funny that.

Speaking of specs:
15.6″ Widescreen LED HD screen with 1920x1080px resolution
2.66Ghz Intel Core i7 620M
80GB Intel SSD
4GB DDR3 RAM
1GB nVidia GT330M with Optimus (more on that later)
WiFi “N”
Bluetooth
Back Massager
Automatic Pancake Maker
etc….

And the thing’s supposed to come with some sort of tech that switches off the GT330M and reverts to standard onboard graphics when the workload’s light, just to save on wear and battery life.  Always A Good Thing™.

It’ll be custom ordered with the above specs, unless I trade off on the 80GB SSD in favor of a cheaper 500GB hard disk drive and 2 extra gigs of RAM.  Either way it goes, I should have it by next month.  That is my goal and I’ll be damned if I end up missing it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.